Nov 20

The D-Link DNS-320 Network Shares page allows the user to configure shared folders and rights to specific users and groups. To be able to create new network access rules, the default rule must first be removed by simply selecting it and clicking on the Delete button. You can also mount .iso files in the ISO Mount Shares Setting. If a user has access to a mounted .iso file then that user will be able to read all the files within it.

Network Shares: / ISO Mount Shares:

The Network Shares Settings window allows you to add, modify and remove both new and existing Network Share and ISO Mount Share Settings.

To add a rule click on the New button. To modify an existing rule click on the Modify button. To remove a rule click on the Delete button.

To select a rule, simply click on the rule and the entry should change to red.

At the bottom of the table the user can navigate through pages and also refresh the window by click on the Refresh button.

If at any point the user wants to reset the network access list to the default configuration, click on the Reset
Network Shares button.

Adding New Network Shares Wizard

The following section will describe how to add a new Network Share on the D-Link ShareCenter Pulse. To add a Network Share click on the Add button. A easy to configure wizard will be launched and look like the following:

Start:

This window welcomes the user to the setup wizard for adding or modifying a network share.
In this wizard the user will be able to:

1) Select share folders.
2) Configure shared folder access rights.
3) Configure network access settings.
4) View a summary of the configuration before completing.

Click on the Next button to continue.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 1:

Select the folder you want to include in this network share by checking the box.
Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 2:

Select which user accounts or group are allowed to access this folder(s). Select All Account to allow all accounts access to this folder. Select Specific User/Group to only allow certain users or groups access to this folder.

Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 2-1:

Select the appropriate access rights for the share. Options to choose from are Read Only, Read Write and Deny Access. This procedure can also be used to block certain users from accessing certain folders.

Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 2-2:

If you select Specific User/Group in Step 2, then this step allows you to set the access rights for each User configured on the device.
Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 2-2-1:

If you select Specific User/Group in Step 2 then this step allows you to set the access rights for each Group configured on the device.

Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 3:

This step allows you to assign privileges to this share.

Opportunistic locks (oplocks) are a characteristic of the LAN Manager networking protocol implemented in the 32bit Windows family. Oplocks are guarantees made by a server for a shared logical volume to its clients. These guarantees inform the Client that a file’s content will not be allowed to be changed by the server, or if some change is imminent, the client will be notified before the change is allowed to proceed. Oplocks are designed to increase
network performance when it comes to network file sharing.

However it is recommended to set the share oplocks to No (off) when using file-based database applications. When enabled, the file attribute “Map Archive” will be copied as the file is being stored on the device.

Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 3-1:

Assign protocol privileges that a user can use to access this share. Options to choose from are FTP, NFS and WebDAV. CIFS and AFP are set as default.

• CIFS is short for Common Internet File System.
• AFP is short for Apple Filing Protocol.
• FTP* is short for File Transfer Protocol.
• NFS is short for Network File System.
• WebDAV* is short for Web-based Distributed Authoring and Versioning.

Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 3-1-1:

Select the FTP settings for this share. FTP access can be:

1) FTP Anonymous None (No Access).
2) FTP Anonymous Read Only (Limited Access).
3) FTP Anonymous Read/Write (Full Access).

Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 3-1-2:

If you selected NFS as an access method to your network share then set the parameters below:

• Host – Allowable host address that can access using NFS(* indicates all hosts).
• Root Squash – Disables writing to the Root owned directories and files on the system when the user has root access privileges.
• Write – provide write permission to the file system.

Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Next button to accept the change and continue to the next window.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Step 4:

Click Finish to save your settings.
Click on the Previous button to return to the previous window.
Click on the Finish button to accept the change and complete the wizard.
Click on the Exit button to discard the changes made and return to the Network Shares Page.

Be Sociable, Share!

Tags: , ,

No Comments


(Required)
(Required, will not be published)

css.php